The Anticipation Is Killing Me!

How I am coping waiting to hear if we have bought our first home

Ellen Quirke
5 min readMar 31, 2021
Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

Yesterday, my partner and I put an offer on a house. We have all of our finances lined up, did all the due diligence we could on the property and put in what we believe to be a fair and reasonable offer.

Now, all we can do is wait….

We are at the mercy of someone else's decision and there is nothing else we can do to sway their opinion. It is completely out of our control. We have put up a quick settlement date, and written a personal letter to the sellers introducing ourselves as a family. I have literally left no stone unturned. It is now completely out of my hands.

Unfortunately, this is a reality of life. We only have so much control, and oftentimes an outcome is up to other external factors. And the anticipation when waiting for that outcome can be unbearable! Especially when it results in a massive life-changing event.

We could be moving towns in a month if our offer is accepted!

However, I know I can’t let the anticipation consume me. There is nothing else I can do to change the course of our destiny. My practical mind knows this, the reality on the other hand is much different.

--

--

Ellen Quirke

Living a sustainable life and writing about my experience. Based in Auckland, New Zealand. Get my free sustainability eGuide https://bit.ly/38wy3tF